By Kaitlyn Mitchell.

So how many of you fashion forecasters remember when Lady Gaga’s Marry the Night music video came out early last November? She said and I quote, “I tipped their gauze caps to the side like Parisian berets, because I think its romantic, and I also believe that mint will be very big in fashion next spring.” As it turns out, she was completely spot on! Mint is everywhere right now, from preppy heels to flowy dresses to smartly structured pants.

Vera Wang’s take on the trend for her 2012 spring collection is anything but expected. An elegantly structured mesh-like top with a dreamy sheer skirt on bottom balance the look. I hope similar looks make their way to affordable stores soon!

Below is Tory Burch’s Grecian billowing gown, accentuated with beaded accessories. In this case, a huge chunky necklace and a flamboyant bow work only because they are variations of the same shade. And the shoes are nothing short of perfection!

These glorious creations from the modern fashion goddesses are nice to dream about, but how can this trend translate into real life? Well…I’ve been obsessed with the color mint for a few months now, and I’ve already done some online shopping. I bought a matching blazer and dress with a sweetheart neckline from Lulu’s Fashion Lounge accentuated with mint-frame glasses from Charlotte Russe. Just add some nude or white pumps and a dramatic hat – you’re all ready to sip a mint julep at sunny Churchill Downs on May 5th!

