Tags

, , , ,


By Meghan Terbush.

In anticipation of our semi-annual fashion show opening today, we sat down and talked to some of our designers Christina Chatman, Ashley Harris and Jacob Whitman about their lines which they will debut tonight!

L-R: Christina, Jacob, Ashley

MODA Style Blog: What was your inspiration for your clothing line?

Christina: My inspiration was a modern twist on the baroque and Victorian era. You can see this in the materials that I use and the construction of my clothing.

Ashley: I was inspired by my hometown on the east side of Michigan. I live right by the lake and in a lot of my garments the texture I used was inspired by that of water and sand. I am also inspired by my parents who; without their help, I could not have gone this far!

Jacob: My inspiration was my good friend Lisa, the color of her skin also helped me out when picking out the color that I wanted for my piece. I knew that she was able to pull off my dress once I picked her to model.

MODA Style Blog: What is your favorite piece that you designed in this collection?

Christina: I really like my corset and the flowing skirt that goes with it!

Ashley: I really like my pleated dress. I did a lot of hard work on the dress and did all the pleats by hand.

Jacob: My first dress ever created a tan corset with lace and a turquoise blue flow skirt. Along with the dress is a hat that I made.

I had a sneak peak at some of the lines, and I can promise that you will not be disappointed! They all look spectacular!

If you would like to come to MODA’s fashion show it is on April 13 and April 14, 8 p.m. at the Radison hotel in downtown Kalamazoo, MI.

A portion of the proceeds we make with be donated to Susan G. Komen! Come and support this amazing group of girls and also congratulations to Ashley Harris on being accepted at Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) in New York City!

