By Kaitlyn Mitchell

This week MODA spent some time with August Smith, a student with superior taste in menswear.

Tell us a little about yourself.

“I am currently working toward a degree in WMU’s Rhetoric and Writing Studies program, with a minor in World Literature. I am nearing the end of my fourth year.”

Describe your personal style.

“I would describe my personal style as pre-serious-career post-thrift-store-culture unemployable-English-major-core, with a slight European influence because I bought a bunch of sweaters in Germany once. I appreciate slim-fitting items of clothing, the more vibrant the better. And I see clothing/fashion as a potentially resonant outward expression of the self.”

Beret: Meyer the Hatter- New Orleans
Collared Plaid Shirt: Goodwill
Sweater and Chinos: Pac Sun
Boat Shoes: Aldo

Stripey Shirt: Urban Outfitters
Windbreaker Vest: Goodwill
Pins: Justin Beiber and Twin Peaks pin – gift from sister; MostlyMidwest pin, in support of music blog www.mostlymidwest.com
Accessory: Poetry chapbook, “Upperpeninsula”

Thanks to the Iron Mountain native August for showing us how a confidently distinct personal style has the ability to boost all facets of daily life!

