By Alexandra McLeod

Name: Erin Johnson
Hometown: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Major: Textile and Apparel Design

Erin models one of her creations.

What made you decide to design for MODA?

This is my first time! It was a career choice to design for MODA. I needed the experience and to improve my technique.

Tell us about your fall 2012 collection.

It was based on book of fairy tales I read. It has a big Eastern European influence – lots of jacquard textures, woven things, and fur. [I have] 8 looks and I’m still working on an avant-garde.

What has been the most challenging aspect in designing your collection?

Time management and surger management (Surger: Sewing machine that cuts off fabric). Sometimes, I accidentally cut into my dress [which is] not good!

What are your favorite brands or stores you go to?

I make some of my own clothes, but primarily I thrift shop in Ann Arbor, at Salvation Army. I like to thrift and then modify them.

Excited to see Erin’s designs come to live? Bring all your friends and family to MODA’s Concrete Jungle Fashion Show, 8 p.m. on November 16 and 17 at the Bernhard Center!

