Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


By Emily Swift 

MODA Public Relations committee member Emily sat down with Caleigh Burgess, a junior Textile and Apparel Studies Design major at Western Michigan University. The second-year MODA member is already busy constructing her full apparel line for the 1920’s-themed spring fashion show. 20-year-old Caleigh is from the city of Grand Blanc, Michigan. 

CB1

MODA: What inspires you?

CB: I usually look at art or art movements, like to capture the feeling within a certain era or decade. I get inspired by literature and film.

MODA: What’s your favorite fashion era?

CB: The 1940’s because of the revival in femininity but with some military and masculine influences.

MODA: What’s the inspiration behind your spring 2013 line?

CB: The Garden of Herspierity, which means the goddesses of the evening or the sunset. I’m applying greaciatian draping to elegant evening wear. I usually design ready-to-wear lines but wanted to change it up this time and try something new with evening wear, as I like to challenge myself with each new line. I’m designing four dresses and one avante-garde piece.

CB2

MODA: What is your favorite celebrity style?

CB: I love Love Jennifer Lawrence, but I like Keira Knightley and Zooey Deschanel’s style the best.

MODA: Who is your favorite designer?

CB: Elie Saab and classic Dior.

MODA: Is there a specific design award you want to win this spring?

CB: I have wanted to win the Most Cohesive Line award for a while. I want to perfect my skill in taking my design conceptions to reality all the while keeping it cohesive.

CB4

MODA: Describe your style.

CB: I don’t dress very feminime, but I like to mix masculine elements with the feminine styles.

MODA: What do you love most about being in the sewing lab?

CB: I love when the sewing lab is empty so I can get things done; however, I also love when all the girls are in the lab, frantic and frazzled so we can all feel each other’s pain.

MODA: Whats your dream job?

CB: I would want to be a ready-wear designer under my own designer name but I would also love to dabble in costume design, so I could win an Oscar for best costume design in the remake of Gone with the Wind!

Look for Caleigh’s line in MODA’s Copacetic Couture spring fashion show at 8pm on Friday, April 12 and Saturday, April 13th at the Kalamazoo Expo Center. Student, general admission, and VIP tickets range from $10-$25.

