By Allison Klausmeier 

We often don’t know much about the models that we see in fashion shows. They tend to be forgotten about, and the all of the focus is put on the designers instead. Without models, our clothes wouldn’t make it down the runway. But thanks to shows like Project Runway and America’s Next Top Model, we are starting to get more of an inside look at the men and women who make designs come to life on the runway. I sat down with MODA model Alexandra McLeod to find out a little bit more about her and her love of fashion.

262678_10151140530631167_1591047193_n
AK: What first got you interested in modeling for MODA?
AM: I knew about MODA before I transferred to Western, so I already knew I wanted to be a part of MODA in general. When I saw a model casting flyer for the MODA show I thought, “hey I should try that!” and I did and I loved it.

AK: Have you done any other modeling outside of the MODA show?

AM: Yes, I have done some print and runway modeling outside of MODA, but most of the connections and contacts Ive made have derived from MODA. I’ve always wanted to do runway – if I could, I’d be in New York walking the runway with Karlie Kloss, so MODA has been such a great experience for me, it feels so real!

AK: I know that you have been involved in MODA in other ways as well. What got you interested in MODA and in fashion in general?

AM: I’ve always been infatuated with clothing, ever since i could dress myself. And same thing with modeling: ever since reading a vogue magazine. Fashion has become more than a hobby to me, it’s sort of a way of life. My major is marketing so I definitely want to use that somewhere in the fashion industry; wether it be a magazine or corporate of a department store. I’ve learned a lot from being a MODA member. My first year I was part of the “MODA On the Go” committee. I really enjoyed traveling to other universities and seeing how they put on their fashion shows. I’ll tell you, no one comes close to a MODA show! This year I tried the Public Relations committee. There was a lot more work involved but it was definitely worth it. Through this I actually got my current internship, with Siegel Jewelers, as their fashion marketing communications intern!

248835_555278544489626_355028674_n
AK: Do you have a favorite designer or a celebrity whose style you are inspired by?

AM: Yes, I have a lot of favorite designers! For high fashion, I love Oscar de la Renta and Alexander McQueen. Words can’t even describe their talents. I love Leighton Meester and everything she wears, same with Miranda Kerr and Lauren Conrad, those are probably my top.

AK: What trends are you looking forward to for Spring/Summer
2013?

AM: I’m looking forward to super high waisted denim cut off shorts – the vintage looking ones! I actually bought a pair of high waisted levies that I am going to cut up into shorts- should be a fun project. And sandals, lots of sandals, I’m kind of sick of boots.

Look for Alexandra McLeod this weekend on the runway at the MODA Copacetic Couture fashion show at the Kalamazoo Expo Center!

MODAFASHIONA

